Frama-C-discuss mailing list archives

This page gathers the archives of the old Frama-C-discuss archives, that was hosted by Inria's gforge before its demise at the end of 2020. To search for mails newer than September 2020, please visit the page of the new mailing list on Renater.

[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

[Frama-c-discuss] CFP NFM 2017: 9th NASA Formal Methods Symposium

  • Subject: [Frama-c-discuss] CFP NFM 2017: 9th NASA Formal Methods Symposium
  • From: Pierre-Loic.Garoche at (Pierre-Loïc Garoche)
  • Date: Fri, 9 Sep 2016 07:09:27 +0200

NFM 2017 - Call For Papers

The 9th NASA Formal Methods Symposium
May 16 - 18, 2017
NASA Ames Research Center
Moffett Field, CA, USA

Theme of the Symposium

The widespread use and increasing complexity of mission-critical and safety-critical systems at NASA and in the aerospace industry require advanced techniques that address these systems’ specification, design, verification, validation, and certification requirements. The NASA Formal Methods Symposium (NFM) is a forum to foster collaboration between theoreticians and practitioners from NASA, academia, and industry. NFM’s goals are to identify challenges and to provide solutions for achieving assurance for such critical systems.

New developments and emerging applications like autonomous software for Unmanned Aerial Systems (UAS), UAS Traffic Management (UTM), advanced separation assurance algorithms for aircraft, and the need for system-wide fault detection, diagnosis, and prognostics provide new challenges for system specification, development, and verification approaches. Similar challenges need to be addressed during development and deployment of on-board software for spacecraft ranging from small and inexpensive CubeSat systems to manned spacecraft like Orion, as well as for ground systems.

The focus of the symposium will be on formal techniques and other approaches for software assurance, including their theory, current capabilities and limitations, as well as their potential application to aerospace, robotics, and other NASA-relevant safety-critical systems during all stages of the software life-cycle.

Topics of interest include but are not limited to:
* Model checking
* Theorem proving
* SAT and SMT solving
* Symbolic execution
* Static analysis
* Model-based development
* Runtime verification
* Software and system testing
* Safety assurance
* Fault tolerance
* Compositional verification
* Security and intrusion detection
* Design for verification and correct-by-design techniques
* Techniques for scaling formal methods
* Formal methods for multi-core, GPU-based implementations
* Applications of formal methods in the development of:
   * autonomous systems
   * safety-critical artificial intelligence systems
   * cyber-physical, embedded, and hybrid systems
   * fault-detection, diagnostics, and prognostics systems

* Use of formal methods in:
   * assurance cases
   * human-machine interaction analysis
   * requirements generation, specification, and validation
   * automated testing and verification

Important Dates
Abstract Submission: November 28, 2016
Paper Submission: December 5, 2016
Paper notification: February 3, 2017
Camera Ready Deadline: March 1, 2017
Symposium: May 16-18, 2017

The symposium will take place at NASA Ames Research Center, Moffett Field, CA, USA.
Registration is required but is free of charge.

Submission Details
There are two categories of submissions:

1. Regular papers describing fully developed work and complete results (maximum 15 pages)

2. Short papers on tools, experience reports, or work in progress with preliminary results (maximum 6 pages)

All papers must be in English and describe original work that has not been published or submitted elsewhere. All submissions will be fully reviewed by at least three members of the Program Committee.

Papers will appear in a volume of Springer's Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS), and must use LNCS style formatting. Papers must be submitted in PDF format at the EasyChair submission site:

Authors of selected best papers may be invited to submit an extended version to a special issue of the Journal of Automated Reasoning (Springer).

Organizing Committee
- Misty Davies, NASA Ames (General Chair)
- Temesghen Kahsai, NASA Ames / CMU (PC Chair)
- Clark Barrett, Stanford University (PC Chair)
- Guy Katz, Stanford University (Local arrangements)

Program Committee
- Aarti Gupta (Princeton University)
- Alberto Griggio (FBK-IRST)
- Alessandro Cimatti (FBK-IRST)
- Alwyn Goodloe (NASA Langley)
- Arie Gurfinkel (CMU/SEI)
- Cesare Tinelli (University of Iowa)
- Christoph Torens (German Aerospace Center)
- Daniel Kroening (University of Oxford)
- Dino Distefano (Facebook)
- Dirk Beyer (LMU Munich)
- Domagoj Babić (Google)
- Ella Atkins (University of Michigan)
- Eric Feron (Georgia Tech)
- Ewen Denney (SGT / NASA Ames)
- Gerwin Klein (NICTA and UNSW)
- John Harrison (Intel)
- John Rushby (SRI)
- Jorge Navas (SGT / NASA Ames)
- Julia Badger (NASA)
- Kalou Cabrera Castillos (LIFC)
- Kelly Hayhurst (NASA)
- Kirstie L. Bellman (The Aerospace Corporation)
- Klaus Havelund (NASA JPL)
- Kristin Yvonne Rozier (Iowa State University)
- Lael Rudd (Draper)
- Lee Pike (Galois)
- Martin Schäf (SRI)
- Mats Heimdahl (University of Minnesota)
- Meeko Oishi (University of New Mexico)
- Mike Hinchey (Lero-the Irish Software Engineering Research Centre)
- Michael Lowry (NASA Ames)
- Murali Rangarajan (Boeing)
- Natasha Neogi (NASA Langley)
- Neha Rungta (SGT / NASA Ames)
- Nikolaj Bjørner (Microsoft Research)
- Patrice Godefroid (Microsoft Research)
- Philipp Rümmer (Uppsala University)
- Pierre-Loïc Garoche (ONERA)
- Rajeev Joshi (NASA JPL)
- Sriram Sankaranarayanan (University of Colorado Boulder)
- Susmit Jha (United Technologies)
- Virginie Wiels (ONERA)
- Wenchao Li (Boston University)
- Zvonimir Rakamarić (University of Utah)

Steering Committee
- Julia Badger, NASA Johnson Space Center, USA
- Ben Di Vito, NASA Langley Research Center, USA
- Klaus Havelund, NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory, USA
- Gerard Holzmann, NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory, USA
- Michael Lowry, NASA Ames Research Center, USA
- Kristin Yvonne Rozier, University of Cincinnati, USA
- Johann Schumann, SGT, Inc./NASA Ames Research Center, USA